Search Provinces Series Blog About Contact

Alberta & Saskatchewan, 1905-1955


Alberta & Saskatchewan, 1905-1955


Date of Issue

June 30, 1955




Postal Administration


Perforation or Dimension



Canadian Bank Note Company, Limited.


Designed by Laurence Hyde. Picture engraved by Yves Baril. Lettering engraved by John F. Mash.

About Stamp

The fiftieth anniversary of the establishment of Alberta and Saskatchewan as provinces in the Canadian Confederation was marked by the Canadian Post Office by a commemorative issue on 30th June, 1955. The two provinces, once part of the Northwest Territories, had been opened for immigration as the result of the linking of the older provinces of Canada with the Pacific coast by railroad. Immigrants poured in to take up free homesteads after the territory in 1882 had been divided into four districts, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Assiniboia, and Athabasca. Finally on 1st September, 1905, acts of Parliament united parts of the Northwest Territories into the respective provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan. The Post Office took the occasion to pay tribute to the scores of thousands of pioneers who had opened up the provinces. The 5-cent stamps commemorated their achievements.

Alberta and Saskatchewan

A man and a woman in costumes of the early pioneers stand before sheaves of wheat with oil wells in the background.

Connection to ebay failed! This is normally caused by AdBlockers. Disable your AdBlocker to see ebay results.
No direct matches found. Click on the button below to search related items.
Search ebay

Similar Stamps


Patrick, Douglas and Mary Patrick. Canada's Postage Stamps. Toronto, McClelland and Stewart Limited, 1964, p. 102-103.

Improve Stamp Information

Did you notice an error in this stamp's information?
Do you have any interesting information about this stamp that you would like to share?
Please click here to send us an email with the details.