Search Provinces Series Blog About Contact

Canada in 1905

Canada Day, Maps


Canada in 1905



Date of Issue

June 30, 1981




Postal Administration



Canada Day, Maps

Series Time Span


Perforation or Dimension



British American Bank Note Company.


Designed by Raymond Bellemare.

About Stamp

To strengthen its authority in the gold-rush zone, the federal government created the Yukon Territory in 1898. Seven years later the federal government set up the Provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta. This encouraged Manitoba to request some federally controlled territory to its north. Disputes over subsidies and schools delayed this expansion until 1912, when Manitoba gained an extra 178,100 square miles. At the same time, Ontario gained 140,000 square miles and Quebec 350,000 square miles. These four stamps are the work of graphic designer Raymond Bellemare of Montreal, using a colour scheme based on the rainbow, symbol of hope and joy. The pane layout, in chronological progression, emphasizes the growth and organization of Canada from a largely undeveloped and unmapped territory to a colourful and vibrant nation.
Connection to ebay failed! This is normally caused by AdBlockers. Disable your AdBlocker to see ebay results.
No direct matches found. Click on the button below to search related items.
Search ebay

Similar Stamps


Canada. Post Office Department. [Postage Stamp Press Release], 1981.

Improve Stamp Information

Did you notice an error in this stamp's information?
Do you have any interesting information about this stamp that you would like to share?
Please click here to send us an email with the details.